Fear: Secondary Research & Idea Development

Although my second artefact would be about sleepless nights, it was clear that this usually stems from anxiety. Generalised anxiety disorder a common condition affected approximately 5% of the UK population (NHS Choices, 2016). The NHS websites states that there are several factors that play a role in this, including “overactivity in areas of the brain involved in emotions and behaviour” (2016). This information was vital to learn and I wanted to show my brain overreacting in my artefact.

I found a film on Nowness.com, a website that was posted on the 360mc Moodle page. It’s discussing what it is that men fear most (as the title of it suggests), but other than the visuals, it is expressed through spoken word. I thought this was a really interesting way of putting across one’s thoughts as it gave the short film an artistic flare, because it’s not something I’m used to seeing/hearing, especially in mainstream films. I liked this approach, so I decided that I would write a poem about my sleepless nights.

https://www.nowness.com/story/what-men-fear-most-bloke-fears-elliott-barnes-worrell

(Nowness, n.d)

I also watched a YouTube video by the channel College Humor, called ‘What’s It’s Like To Have Insomnia’ (2015). This took a comedic approach to not being able to sleep, which isn’t something I necessarily wanted to do. I did however like that it personified the character’s mind. Their thoughts became a new person and it was easier for the audience to understand what was going on in the character’s head. This is something I want to do, but I don’t want to make it too obvious by using a split screen and making the actor to wear different clothes etc. This is because, as mentioned in a previous blog, I don’t want to pander to the audience.

(College Humor, 2015)

The band Twenty Øne Piløts are known for making songs about the anxiety, suicide and depression (Facebook, n.d), so I decided to listen to some of their songs. The song below really stuck out to me.

(twenty one pilots, 2015)

Genius claims that the song Ride is about the journey of life because, “Throughout the song, Tyler’s lyrics indicate he feels like dying is easy, but finding someone or something to live for is life’s challenge” (2016). This is something  I’ve always felt and thought but I’ve never known how to put into words. Their songs and lyrics were great for getting ideas on how to write a poem about my worries. I thought I would challenge myself and attempt to write about death and my loved ones too.

Below are pictures of the poem that I wrote:

The idea is that someone will be trying to sleep, however their mind is not allowing them to. Claude Levi-Strauss discusses binary opposites, suggesting that it is needed in order to create conflict (2008). The binary opposites in my piece will be my logical and anxious side of my mind having a battle. I think having this conflict will make my artefact more interesting to watch, rather than just hearing someone complain to the camera.

Below is my original video that I showed in class. It was in the editing process when it was shown and I intend to remake it, as I thought there were a few problems with it. For example, I felt that the video was too dark and it also wasn’t completely clear when my anxious side was talking.

Because of this I wanted to look closer at lighting, in order to get rid of these problems. I watched the video below which explained how to set up lights for dark scenes.

As explained in the video one of the reasons a video can look grainy, as I think mine did, is because the ISO was too high. As a result, I used a brighter light and a lower ISO. I then colour corrected the video in post, to make the scene look darker yet still viewable. In the video Ryan quickly mentions how we psychologically link blue light to moonlight. He didn’t talk about it much but I was intrigued as to why this was. Millerson talks about this is the book Lighting for Television and Film, saying that in lower light situations our eyes’ colour response changes and “undergoes a spectral shift towards blue” (2016). This explains why blue light is used so often to portray moonlight and because of this, I used a blue filter over the LED panel in my updated artefact.

In order to make it clearer when the anxious side of the mind was talking, I wanted to use a different coloured filter. Orange is opposite from blue in the colour wheel (Bellamy, 2004), but I didn’t want to be so obvious by using the exact opposing colour. So I used a red filter instead. Because the red was representing the anxious side, I wanted the colour to become deeper as time went on in order to show that the mind was getting stronger and spiraling out of control.

Bibliography

Bellamy, A. (2004) Systematic/subjective Colour selection. Lausanne, Switzerland: AVA Publishing SA.

College Humor (2015) What’s It’s Like To Have Insomnia. [online] Available from: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgYpYlSRWSE&gt; (Accessed: 31 October 2016).

Facebook (no date) Twenty One Pilots – about. Available at: <https://www.facebook.com/pg/twentyonepilots/about/?ref=page_internal&gt; (Accessed: 28 October 2016).

Film Riot (2014) How to light for darkness! Available at: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15tYFWR4cvA&t=586s&gt; (Accessed: 20 November 2016).

Genius (2016) Ride Lyrics. [online] Available from: <http://genius.com/6393723&gt; (Accessed 29 October 2016)

Levi-Strauss, C. (2008) Structural anthropology. New York: Basic Books.

Millerson, G. (1999) Lighting for television and film. 3rd edn. Oxford: Elsevier Science.

NHS Choices (2016) Generalised anxiety disorder in adults. Available at: <http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anxiety/pages/introduction.aspx&gt; (Accessed: 28 October 2016).

Nowness (n.d) What Men Fear Most. [online] Available from: <https://www.nowness.com/story/what-men-fear-most-bloke-fears-elliott-barnes-worrell&gt; (Accessed: 28 October 2016)

twenty one pilots (2015) twenty one pilots: Ride (Video). [online] Available from: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pw-0pbY9JeU&gt; (Accessed: 29 October 2016)

Leave a Reply

